# Thomas County Board of Education Minutes June 11, 2019

**Attendees: Voting Members** 

Mr. Dan Stewart, Chair

Mr. Charles Evans, Vice Chair

Mr. Derwood Hickey, Board Member

Ms. Nancy Hiers, Board Member

Mr. Mark NeSmith, Board Member

Mrs. Leah Smith, Board Member

Mrs. Kay Streets, Board Member

### **Non-Voting Members**

Mrs. Cindy Carnes, School Nutrition Director

Mrs. Carol Gerald, Administrative Assistant

Mr. Joey Holland, Deputy Superintendent for Finance

Mr. Chris Huckans, Principal of Bishop Hall Charter School

Dr. Lisa Williams, Superintendent

#### I. Call to Order

Chairman Stewart called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

- II. Devotional Christa Graham, teacher at Thomas County Central High School
- III. Approval of Consent Agenda
  - A. Agenda
  - B. Minutes: May 14 and May 25
  - C. Bishop Hall board minutes: April 18
  - D. Upcoming meeting: July 9 regular meeting
  - E. School Nutrition and School Food Service bids
  - F. Fundraising requests
  - G. Out-of-district students

Motion made by: Mrs. Kay Streets

Motion seconded by: Mr. Charles Evans

Voting: Unanimously Approved

#### IV. Superintendent's Report

- A. Draft of July 9 agenda
- B. Bishop Hall Charter Renewal updates Chris Huckans

Mr. Huckans updated the board on Bishop Hall Charter renewals and said there is a five year plan to improve test scores which includes hiring an instructional coach. Some other goals within the charter are to negotiate with the state in preparing students for college; possibly starting a military cadet program for the FY2021 school year; and having CTAE teachers become Work Based Learning certified.

C. Financial Report - Joey Holland

## V. Budget Hearing

Chairman Stewart declared the Budget Hearing open and asked Mr. Holland to begin the hearing with details of the budget. Mr. Holland presented a power point presentation of the FY20 budget.

Chairman Stewart asked for questions and since there were none, he declared the hearing closed.

#### VI. New Business

A. Final FY20 budget approval

Motion made by: Mrs. Leah Smith

Motion seconded by: Mr. Charles Evans

Voting: Unanimously Approved

B. Resolution to transfer a portion of the FY 19 surplus to the Capital Projects Fund

Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans

Motion seconded by: Mrs. Kay Streets

Voting: Unanimously Approved

C. Bid recommendation for electronic access control system

Motion made by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

Motion seconded by: Mr. Charles Evans

Voting: Unanimously Approved

D. Bid recommendation for technology equipment

Motion made by: Ms. Nancy Hiers

Motion seconded by: Mrs. Leah Smith

Voting: Unanimously Approved

E. Bid recommendation for purchase of maintenance vehicle

Motion made by: Mrs. Kay Streets

Motion seconded by: Ms. Nancy Hiers

**Voting:** Unanimously Approved

F. CACFP Agreement for TCCHS & Delegation of Authority

Motion made by: Mr. Derwood Hickey

Motion seconded by: Mr. Charles Evans

Voting: Unanimously Approved

G. FY20 System Parent and Family Engagement Policy/Plan

Motion made by: Ms. Nancy Hiers

Motion seconded by: Mrs. Leah Smith

Voting: Unanimously Approved

H. Personnel report

Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans

Motion seconded by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

Voting: Unanimously Approved

I. Executive session for superintendent's evaluation

Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans

Motion seconded by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

**Voting**: Unanimously Approved

J. End executive session

Motion made by: Mr. Mark NeSmith

Motion seconded by: Mr. Charles Evans

Voting: Unanimously Approved

## K. Superintendent's evaluation

Chairman Stewart expressed appreciation for the job Dr. Williams does as superintendent. He said she is a wonderful person and leader.

Motion made by: Mr. Mark NeSmith Motion seconded by: Mr. Charles Evans

Voting: Unanimously Approved

# L. Superintendent's contract extension

Chairman Stewart told Dr. Williams that the board would meet with her in a month or so and at that time would move forward regarding a contract extension.

VII.	Adi	ournment

<b>Motion</b>	made by: Mr. Charles Evans
Motion	seconded by: Mrs. Leah Smith
Voting:	Unanimously Approved

Chairnarson	Sacratary
Chairperson	Secretary